Books I love and I loathe


These past two months, I’ve been obsessed with books. Doesn’t mean that I haven’t been obsessed with books all of my life, though. I’ve been obsessed with it since my childhood. Back to those wonderful childhood days, I liked to bury my nose to good children’s books, such as Disney-related books and Roald Dahl’s ‘The Witches’. I loved reading fairy tales by Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. And until now, my love to books hasn’t changed, and probably never will.

So, since we’re living in 2014, I’m trying to switch my books preference from conventional books to e-books. No, I don’t mean to 100% alter from traditional to modern kinds of books. I feel that my book space is getting smaller and smaller, and so I bought myself a tablet last month, which I mainly use as e-reader. Thank God, the internet is a wonderful and miraculous place, since I can get free e-books with no hassle. Download the books, upload them to Google Books, and keep the books for offline reading, so I can read the books stored to my account without having to find a free wifi spot. If I find the book wonderful, I will still buy the paper edition.

Without any further ado, I will write the books that I’ve read that really capture my mind and my soul, books I’ve read and I feel glad not to buy the paper version because according to me it’s very crappy, books I don’t mind to reread, and books I’m reading now.

1. Never Fall Down by Patricia McCormick

Plot: Arn, a young boy from Battambang city, Cambodia, tells you his unforgettable story about being a child of war during the Cambodian genocide and the labor camps of Khmer Rouge.

Do I Like or Dislike it?: I like this book. This book is so painful to read, not because of the broken English this book uses, but because of the vivid portrayal about what’s going on in his life. Really painful to read but you can’t keep it down until you finish it.

Unforgettable Scenes: When Arn told me about how the kids got diarrhea due to the lack of food and nutrition in the labor camps.

This is the book I have read and I don’t have any problems to reread.

2. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Plot: Lina is just an ordinary 16-year-old teenager who still enjoys the sweetness of life in Lithuania. One night, she and her family (her mother and her brother) gets deported to Russia to work as labors during the occupation of Russia in Lithuania in 1939. Read this novel to find out how she can survive during the camps and the cold weather of remote Russian town with her paintings and her letters she secretly send to her father.

Do I Like or Dislike It?: Just like Never Fall Down, the message of this novel is very strong. It’s about children of war and how they manage to survive in labor camps. Somehow, this novel tells me not to give up in my bad days. The descriptions in this novel isn’t as graphic as Never Fall Down, but it’s still an interesting book for me.

Unforgettable Scenes: When Lina and her brother had to take care of her mother, and the chemistry between Lina and Andrius, a fellow teen prisoner of war.

This is the book I have read and I don’t have any problems to reread.

3. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Plot: Allyson Healey is an American teenager who’s going on a graduation trip to Europe before her college life starts. In Stratford-Upon-Avon, she meets a quirky yet mysterious Dutch actor named Willem whom she joins with for an adventure in Paris. Her adventure is gone when Willem disappears.

Do I Like or Dislike It?: Meh. This book is sooooooo boring for a fast reader like me. I don’t like the choice of words the author uses to express and to describe Allyson’s actions, they sound as if Allyson is one desperate girl. This book also uses A LOT, I say, humungous amount of metaphors, and if you like books with straight-up language, you won’t like this book. However, you might find that the book pace is getting better towards the end of the book.

Unforgettable Scenes: When Allyson decides to drop her pre-med and go to Paris to find Willem. (Deep in my heart, I shout at her, “YOU WANT TO FIND A GUY NAMED WILLEM? DON’T GO TO PARIS, GO TO AMSTERDAM INSTEAD, YOU FOOL!”)

This is the book I’ve read and I don’t want to reread it. Not anymore.

4. Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Plot: Willem’s point of view during her meeting with Allyson, from their last night in Paris.

This book is very monotone to me because AGAIN, the author uses long words and metaphors. Enough with the metaphors, please. I read only a half part of it and I dropped it down because I can’t stand the book. People, I YAWNED upon reading it. Yawned. That shows how boring this book is for me. Therefore, I’m sorry if I can’t write if I like or dislike this book (pretty much you’ve figured it out, right?) and the unforgettable scenes.

Books I’m Reading Now!

Yay! Finally we’ve gotten to this part. I’m so excited to write this section because I can show you the books I’m currently reading and they’re all very engaging with promising plots and endings!

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Plot: Anna Oliphant, an American girl, has to undergo her senior year in School of America in Paris (SOAP), much to her dismay. She was looking forward for spending her senior year in high school in Atlanta with her friend and her almost boyfriend, but her divorced parents tell her to do the opposite. Read her amazing adventure with her new friends and of course, the guy she can’t help not to adore, Etienne St. Clair.

You will be starstruck, wonderstruck, whatever the name is, with St. Clair. I promise you.

6. Great by Sara Benincasa

Plot: Sara Benincasa retells the story of The Great Gatsby in modern world. Naomi Rye has to live with her mom in East Hamptons for the summer, and she has to deal with the drama of the teenager elites in the Hamptons, while all she wants to do is just work on her SAT to get to Harvard. Everyone loves a good scandal, right?

Currently reading the beginning parts of the book, so I can’t say much. However, I love the writing style because it’s so funny.

Those are my current favorite books, current least favorite books, and what I’m reading. Feel free to drop your favorite books and book recommendations!

Tinggalkan Balasan

